of the
(Die Wilgers is a suburb of Pretoria in the City of Tshwane)

  1. Aims of the Association

    • To represent the interests of the residents of the area bordered by Rossouw Street to the North, the Bronberg Nature Reserve to the South, Rubida Street in the West and Simon Vermoten Road in the East.
    • To set up formal channels of communication between the community and official structures such as the City Council, the South African Police Service, the Metro Police and the Municipality.
    • To address safety issues and to establish a neighbourhood network.
    • To address envoronmental issues such as comercial developments, littering, vagrants and traffic.
    • To take up domestic issues such as road maintenance, street lighting, electricity and water supply and sewerage.
  2. Membership

    The Association is apolitical and non-sectarian and all residents in the defined area are members. Residents are requested to make a regular contribution to defray costs of the Association. Residents staying in security villages can be represented and contribute financially through their body corporate.
  3. Management Committee

    The Management Committe (MC) shall consist of a chairperson, a deputy chairperson, a treasurer, a secretary and five members who together with the deputy chairperson will take responsibility for the portfolios, Liason with the City Council and the Municipality, Security Issues, Newsletter, Domestic Issues and Environmental Issues. The MC may co-op additional members in order to achieve better representivity or expertise.

    The MC shall meet at least once every three months and decisions shall be taken by majority vote. A quorum shall consist of at least four members and in the case of a draw of votes the chairperson may use his/her second vote to reach a decision or refer the matter to a subcommittee for further presentations.

    The members of the MC are to be elected at the annual general meeting (AGM). Nomination of candidates for election to the MC are to be invited through notices in the Association’s newsletter four weeks before the AGM and have to be submitted to the secretary of the Association one week before the AGM.

    Members of the MC are to be elected for a period of two years on condition that half of its members have to retire in rotation every year to ensure continuity. Retiring MC members may stand for re-election. In the event of a resignation a new member may be co-opted.

    The MC will elect its chairperson and will assign portfolios according to its needs. All members of the MC shall serve in an honorary capacity.

  4. Annual General Meetings (AGM)

    The AGM shall be held in the first half of each year at which the financial statements have to be presented. Notice thereof shall be given through the Association’s newsletter, emails, SMS notices and other means as may be applicable.

    Notices of motions affecting matters of policy and nominations for the MC shall be submitted to the secretary in writing at least one week prior to the AGM. All notices and nominations have to be signed by the proposer and a seconder and must be accompanied by their names and addresses as residents of the defined area.

    A quorum shall be the number of residents at the AGM providing the AGM was widely advertised. If the MC is of the opinion that the turnout is to low, another meeting is to be arranged within eight weeks. In the event of another failure to obtain afair turnout of residents, the Association shall cease to exist and its net assets are to be given to the CPF.

  5. Special Meetings

    Special meetings may be called on receipt of a written motion to that effect and supported by at least 30 residents. It can also be convened by the MC.
  6. Financial Statements

    The financial year of the Association shall commence on 1 January and end on 31 December. The Financial Statements are to be tabled at the AGM and shall be available to members for perusal together with the notice of the AGM.

    A qualified bookkeeper who is not a member of the MC is required to verify the Financial Statements prior to the AGM.

  7. Amendments of the Constitution

    A two-thirds majority vote at the AGM or at a Special Meeting is required for an amendment of the Constitution.
  8. Amendment History

    1. Drafted by Claus Triebel, Pr. Eng. and approved by the AGM on 16 March 2004.
    2. Amended at the AGM on 5 May 2006 to extend the area from Lynnwood Road to the northern boundary of the Bronberg Nature Reserve.
    3. Amended at the AGM on 28 May 2009 to change the financial year from 1 April to 31 March to 1 January to 31 December.
    4. Amended at the AGM on 19 June 2014 to include all residents in the defined area as members.